How To Delete & Deactivate Twitter Account (6 Hacks You Can Use Right Now)

Want to get rid of your Twitter account? You could delete your account for many reasons, such as not using the platform anymore, starting an account from scratch, or closing down a business account.

If you’re looking to delete your account, you might want to make the process as quick and pain-free as possible.

Fortunately, Twitter makes it simple for you to do so with a few simple steps. You will generally not be able to access your account during the 30-day deactivation period.

This article explains how to delete your Twitter account. We also briefly describe some precautions you may wish to take to ensure your account is deleted permanently and provide some alternatives to the account deletion process that may be more suitable for certain users.

Taking a break from Twitter? We get it. Sometimes it’s good to take a step back from everything that’s going on.

Or if you’re looking for a permanent break, we can help you too. Follow our step-by-step instructions on how to deactivate—or delete—your Twitter account.

READ ALSO: 20 Free And Powerful Website Builders For Businesses

Deactivating vs. Deleting

Deactivating your Twitter account is the first step to deleting your account permanently.

Deactivation lasts 30 days. If you do not access your account within the 30-day deactivation period, your account is deleted and your username will no longer be associated with your account.

It is important to distinguish between a deactivated account and a deleted account. In many ways, they are the same: all tweets and all references to the account will leave Twitter within the first few days of deactivation.

Other Twitter users will be unable to follow the account or search for the account, including searches for historical tweets made by the account.

Twitter Account

You (and anyone else) will also be restricted from using the deactivated account’s username or signing up for a new account using the deactivated account’s email address.

A deactivated account can be reactivated, which will bring back all of those old tweets, but only within 30 days.

The only way to delete an account is to leave it deactivated for 30 days. Once the account is deleted, all tweets leave the Twitter servers permanently.

Anyone can use the username for the account, and you can use the same email address to sign up for a new one.

How Do I Save My Data Before I Delete My Account?

When you delete your Twitter accounts, chances are you might want to keep some of the data stored on the platform.

Twitter makes it simple to download all of your data, including Tweets, media, and messages.

Here’s how to save your Twitter data:

  1. Go to the three-dot menu icon and select Settings and privacy.
  2. Under Data and permissions, click Your Twitter data.
  3. Enter your password and select Confirm.
  4. Then click the Request archive button next to Twitter. There is also the option to request Periscope data which will lead you to your Periscope account (if you have one).
  5. Once your data is ready, you’ll receive a notification within Twitter as well as an email with a link. Now, when you go into Your Twitter data, there should be a Download archive button. Click this to download your data.

How To Delete Your Twitter Account On Your Phone

Twitter Account

Here’s how to delete your Twitter account from your phone. Note that before you close your account, you may want to create an archive of your tweets.

Here’s how to download all your tweets.

  1. Sign in to your Twitter account and tap your profile icon in the top left corner.
  2. In the side menu, scroll down and tap Settings and privacy.
  3. Select Your account > Deactivate your account.
  4. Select a reactivation period: 30 days or 12 months
  5. Tap Deactivate.
  6. You’ll be prompted to enter your password and tap Deactivate to confirm.

How To Delete Your Twitter Account On Your Computer

If you’re using Twitter on your computer’s web browser, here’s how to delete your account.

Again, before you close it down, think about creating an archive of your tweets.

  1. Sign in to your Twitter account.
  2. On the left menu, select More > Settings and privacy.
  3. Under the Your account section, click Deactivate your account.
  4. Choose one of the reactivation periods: 30 days or 12 months.
  5. Click Deactivate.
  6. You’ll then be prompted to enter your password and then you’ll confirm you want to proceed by clicking Deactivate account.

How To Deactivate Twitter Account

Twitter Account
  1. In the top menu, you will either see a navigation menu icon or your profile icon. Tap whichever icon you have, then tap Settings and privacy.
  2. Tap Account, then tap Deactivate your account.
  3. Read the account deactivation information, then tap Deactivate.
  4. Enter your password when prompted and tap Deactivate.
  5. Confirm that you want to proceed by tapping Yes, deactivate.

What Happens After I Deactivate My Account?

Once you’ve confirmed your account deactivation, your Twitter profile and any associated information will no longer be accessible via the platform.

However, it will take up to 30 days for Twitter to start the process of deleting your account. Full account deletion can take up to an additional week.

Within the 30-day period, you can reactivate your account at any time just by logging in and confirming reactivation.

This is good news for anyone who has deactivated their account in error or has a change of heart a few days or weeks after closing their account.

However, it does mean that your username and email address will remain tied to that account for those 30 days, so you can’t use them on another account.

How To Reactivate Your Account

If you change your mind, you can always reactivate your account for up to 30 days or 12 months, depending on the selection you made. Here’s what to do

  1. Log in to your account.
  2. You’ll see a notice asking if you’d like to reactivate your account. If you select yes, you’ll be redirected to your Twitter Home timeline. Note that it could take a while for your Tweets and followers to be restored.

READ ALSO: 20 Best Online Savings Platforms in Nigeria 2022

CONCLUSION

That’s all what you need to know about How To Delete And Deactivate Twitter Account. Do well to keep your Account safe and secured. Thank you for reading all through!

close

BE INFORMED.

Sign up to get FREE Instant access to PREMIUM content in your inbox.

We don’t spam!

Share

Leave a Comment