How To Sign Out Of iCloud Account On A Mac {Simple Guide}

I will be sharing with you how to sign out of icloud account on a Mac.

An iCloud account stores passwords, contacts, files, photos, and much more. In order to sign out of iCloud on a Mac, follow this blog post closely.

For Mac users, signing out of an iCloud account is a fairly simple process. Apple’s cloud service solution was launched back in 2011 and works across Apple devices including the Mac, iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch.

iCloud can be used to store information like passwords, files, photos, notes, and more, and even serve as a cloud-based backup for Apple devices.

Apple offers 5GB of free iCloud storage, and if users want to back up more data-heavy files, they will need to purchase a paid storage plan.

iCloud Account
iCloud Account

iCloud Account functions seamlessly in the Apple devices ecosystem, but there are still a couple of reasons why a user might want to sign out of their account on a Mac.

They could be lending their Mac to a friend or family member, or might be handing in their computer for service.

In either case, signing out of iCloud ensures that sensitive data such as passwords and credit card information are not shared with third parties.

RELATED: How To Find A Lost iPhone Using Google Assistant

How To Sign Out Of iCloud Account On A Mac

As per Apple, to sign out of an iCloud account on Mac a user will first need to:

  1. Click on the Apple icon at the top left corner of the menu bar.
  2. From there, go to System Preferences.
  3. Click on Apple ID, and then on Overview if using a Mac running macOS High Sierra and above. For Macs running older software versions, click on Apple ID > iCloud instead.
  4. Tap on Sign out and a pop-up window should appear asking which iCloud data the user would like to keep on the Mac, such as contacts, keychain, calendar, and so on.
  5. Select the appropriate checkboxes and then ‘Keep on Mac’.
  6. The user will be prompted to enter their Apple ID password to complete the process.

ICloud Services To Keep In Mind

iCloud Account

It’s important to note that once a user signs out of iCloud on their Mac, they will automatically be signed out of the App Store, FaceTime, and iMessage. If a user wants to continue to use these services while being signed out of iCloud, they will need to sign in with their Apple ID. To do this;

  1. Go to Apple Menu > System Preferences.
  2. Then click on Sign In.
  3. Enter the Apple ID and password, followed by the six-digit verification code sent to a trusted Apple device or phone number.

Before a user signs out of an iCloud account, it’s important to know which services will be turned off for them.

These include Apple Pay, Apple Card, Find My, Home App (to control HomeKit devices), iCloud Keychain, iCloud Photos, iCloud Mail, Siri shortcuts, Shared Albums, Reminders, Voice Memos, and Shared Notes and Albums.

iCloud+ paid subscribers will lose access to premium features like Hide My Email and iCloud Private Relay. The good news is that this data remains on iCloud even if a user signs out on a device.

Share

Leave a Comment