How To Delete & Deactivate Snapchat Account (5 Hacks You Can Use Right Now)

Snapchat is a popular app among teenagers that lets users send pictures and videos that are only viewable for a short time.

In contrast to other social media applications, Snapchat’s photos will disappear after a few seconds.

The photo-sharing platform’s many features, including the goofy selfies, the real-time life updates and the dog filters, make it easy to get carried away with.

But while hundreds of millions of daily active users consume and create content with Snapchat, not everyone is pleased with the mobile app.

Among the primary concerns with Snapchat is that recipients can record snaps without the creator’s knowledge or consent.

And although Snapchat does notify a sender when a recipient takes a screenshot or records a video through proprietary software, some apps allow recipients to circumvent these checks.

If you no longer want to keep your Snapchat account, you can choose to delete it.

This article by Humortainment discusses how to Delete your Snapchat account, you may also deactivate and reactivate the account if you decide that you wish to do so in the future.

It is actually necessary to deactivate your account first before you can permanently delete it.

RELATED: 20 Cheapest VPN To Buy In 2022

How To Delete Snapchat Account On Your iPhone Or Android

  1. Go to Snapchat Account
  2. Log into your account.
  3. Scroll down until you see Delete My Account on the Manage My Account page.
  4. Click Delete My Account.
  5. Enter your username and password to confirm.
  6. Click Continue to start the process.
  7. Don’t log into the app again.
  8. Your Snapchat account will be deleted permanently in 30 days.

How To Delete Your Snapchat Account On Your Computer

  1. From Account settings, click on My Account and Security.
  2. Click Account Security, Delete My Account, and Accounts Portal.
  3. Enter your Snapchat account details to log in.
  4. Enter your username and password, then press Continue.

In summary, To delete your Snapchat account if you’re on Android or on the web…

Go to the accounts portal and type in the username and password for the account you want to delete. (Keep this info handy in case you change your mind and want to reactivate your account.)

Snapchat Account

After taking the steps to delete your account, it will first be deactivated for 30 days.

While your account is deactivated, your friends will not be able to contact or interact with you on Snapchat.

After an additional 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted. This means that your account, account settings, friends, Snaps, Chats, Story, device data, and location data in our main user database will be deleted.

How To Deactivate Your Snapchat Account

You may want to deactivate your Snapchat if you just want a break from the app. Currently, there’s no direct way to disable your account temporarily. The only way to deactivate Snapchat is to delete it.

After you delete your Snapchat, the platform gives you 30 days to change your mind before deleting your account permanently.

So, to temporarily deactivate your Snapchat, you could cancel the deletion process before the 30-day period ends.

If you go into your Snapchat settings on the mobile app, you won’t find anything that takes you through the process of how to delete your Snapchat account.

Don’t worry—it is possible to delete a Snap account, but you have to do it from a web browser. Follow these simple steps:

  1. Navigate to Your Snapchat Account in a web browser and sign into your Snapchat account.
  2. Under Manage My Account, select Delete My Account.
  3. Enter your login details in the fields on the following page and select Continue.
  4. On the next page, you’ll receive a message stating your account is in the process of being deactivated.

Why Deactivate Or Delete A Snapchat Account?

You might want to deactivate, then delete your Snapchat account if:

  1. You no longer snap or chat with friends, open snaps or chats from friends, post stories, or view friends’ stories.
  2. You want to change your Snapchat username.
  3. You have too many friends and want to start over with a fresh account, rather than going through them all and deleting them.
  4. You want to quit using Snapchat due to loss of interest, unpleasant experiences, a long-term digital detox, a change in priorities, etc.
Snapchat Account

How To Reactivate Your Snapchat Account

Reactivating your Snapchat account is pretty simple as long as you are still within the 30-day deletion window.

If you change your mind about deleting your Snapchat account, you can always reactivate it, provided you do it within 30-days of deactivating it.

To reactivate it, all you have to do is sign into your Snapchat account using your username (not your email address) and your password.

If you recently deactivated your account and are trying to reactivate it, you might need to wait a little while until the deactivation process is complete, which could take up to 24 hours (according to Snapchat).

If you verified your email address on your account, you should receive an email notifying you when your account has been successfully deactivated.

Once you receive this, you can go ahead and sign in to your account to reactivate it.

Follow these 5 instructions to reactivate your Snapchat account from the Snapchat app on your iOS or Android device.

  1. Open Snapchat and tap Log In.
  2. Enter your username and password, and then tap Log In.
  3. You’ll see a message that your account is currently deactivated. Tap Yes to reactivate it.
  4. You’ll see a message asking you to wait a few moments for your account to be reactivated. Tap OK.
  5. You’ll receive an email telling you that your account has been reactivated. Log back into your account and access Snapchat again.

How To Permanently Delete Snapchat

Once your Snapchat account deletion process has started, your Snapchat account will be completely invisible to all of your connections.

To delete your Snapchat account permanently, all you have to do is refrain from logging into the app for 30 days after you deactivate your Snapchat account.

After this period, your Snapchat account will be mostly gone, but not completely. Snapchat’s privacy guidelines state that they retain some personal data due to legal, security and business needs.

This includes info about your purchases and the accepted terms of service.

Snapchat Account

Be sure you want to continue with deleting your Snapchat account. If you miss the 30-day recovery period, everything associated with your account will be lost forever.

Contacts, memories, friends, stories, and any old shared locations or other virtual signposts will vanish, if you delete your account.

Follow these simple instructions to permanently delete your Snapchat Account.

  1. Go to Snapchat Account
  2. Log into your account.
  3. Scroll down until you see Delete My Account on the Manage My Account page.
  4. Click Delete My Account.
  5. Enter your username and password to confirm.
  6. Click Continue to start the process.
  7. Don’t log into the app again.
  8. Your Snapchat account will be deleted permanently in 30 days.

What Happens If You Delete Your Snapchat Account?

The instant you complete the Snapchat deletion process, an invisible 30-day timer starts.

You now have just over four weeks to change your mind. After 30 days, Snapchat deletes the following data from its database:

  • Account
  • Account settings
  • Friends
  • Snaps
  • Chats
  • Story
  • Device data
  • Location data

How To Download Your Snapchat Data

If you want to preserve your Snapchat data before you delete your account, you can download it before you do so.

Snapchat data includes your login histories, account information, profiles, snap history, chat history, and friends lists.

Follow these simple steps to download your Snapchat Data:

  1. Go to Snapchat Account
  2. Log into your account.
  3. Click My Data and then click Submit Request.
  4. You’ll receive a download link to your verified Snapchat email address.
  5. Use the link to download your data.

How To Protect Yourself On Social Media

Maybe deleting Snapchat is one step too far for you at the moment. If that’s the case, there are steps you can take to help protect yourself while using Snapchat, and any other social media platforms.

ALSO READ: Canadian Dollar To Naira [OFFICIAL RATE & Black Market Today 2022]

CONCLUSION

That’s all what you need to know about How To Delete And Deactivate Snapchat Account. Do well to keep your Account safe and secured. Kindly share this post and feel free to leave a comment down below!

close

BE INFORMED.

Sign up to get FREE Instant access to PREMIUM content in your inbox.

We don’t spam!

Share

Leave a Comment