How To Delete & Deactivate Facebook Account (Easy Method)

It’s no secret that Facebook has changed enormously since its launch in 2004 (feel old? us too).

Now that Facebook is owned by Meta, Mark Zuckerberg’s media empire, you might be in the market for reducing the number of accounts you have across different platforms, which includes your Facebook account.

On Facebook, people around the world share photos and messages with their friends and family, as well as engage in pointless debates over cat videos that are moderately entertaining.

Despite the fact that some find social media platforms to be essential, others find the data scandals and privacy concerns troubling.

It’s easy to deactivate your Facebook account if you decide you no longer want to use Facebook.

When you deactivate your Facebook account, you hide all of the information that is stored in it.

Facebook will not be able to contact you or view the information you’ve shared, including your news feed, status updates, and photos.

If you decide that you’d like to return to Facebook, you’ll still be able to reactivate your account and recover your old information.

This article by Humortainment discusses some instructions for deleting or deactivating your Facebook account, if you want to step away from Facebook temporarily or permanently.

RELATED: How To Delete And Deactivate Snapchat Account

How To Delete Your Facebook Account From Your iPhone

Follow these simple instructions to delete your Facebook Account from your iPhone:

  1. Start the Facebook app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the three-lined icon (hamburger menu).
  3. Tap Settings & Privacy.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Account Ownership and Control.
  6. Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
  7. Tap Delete Account.
  8. Delete your Facebook app for good measure.
Facebook Account

How To Delete Your Facebook Account From Your Android

Follow these simple instructions to delete your Facebook Account from your Android:

  1. Start the Facebook app on your Android device.
  2. Tap the three-lined icon (hamburger menu).
  3. Tap Settings & Privacy.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Account Ownership and Control.
  6. Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
  7. Tap Delete Account.
  8. Delete your Facebook app for good measure.

The Disadvantages Of Deleting Your Facebook Account

Deleting your Facebook account can certainly feel liberating. You don’t have to worry about managing your privacy or consuming seemingly endless social media content.

But rather than a permanent deletion, some people prefer to take a break from Facebook by deactivating their account for the following reasons:

  1. You won’t be able to access Facebook again unless you create a new account.
  2. It’s impossible to use Messenger without a Facebook account.
  3. Some accounts that you entered through Facebook Login may malfunction. You may need to contact those apps and websites or create new accounts.
  4. You’ll permanently lose your data unless you download a copy.
  5. You’ll lose your app purchases, achievements, and more related to your Facebook login on Oculus.

Can You Undelete Facebook If You Change Your Mind?

Facebook says that it needs up to 90 days from the start of the deletion request to remove everything you’ve posted permanently.

It may even keep some data in backup storage for legal issues as part of its data policy.

It also offers a 30-day grace period after you erase your account. Here is how to cancel your account deletion within 30 days:

  1. Log in to your Facebook account.
  2. Hit Cancel Deletion.

What Happens When You Delete Facebook?

Deleting an account, on the other hand, is set in stone. You will not be able to regain access once the account is deleted and everything associated with the user will be permanently removed.

For this reason, Facebook delays deletion for a few days after the request is made, in case you change your mind.

It can take up to 90 days after your account is removed for all of your data stored in Facebook’s backup systems to be completely deleted.

Deactivating Your Facebook Account

Deactivating your Facebook is a temporary measure. After you deactivate your account, your Facebook page, including your intro, photos, friends, and posts, is hidden.

No one can send you friend requests either. However, your messages are still visible to their recipients.

Here are some advantages of deactivating your Facebook instead of deleting it:

  1. Your photos, videos, and posts are hidden but not permanently deleted.
  2. Facebook Messenger is still fully accessible.
  3. You can still access accounts through Facebook Login.
  4. You can reactivate Facebook whenever you please by logging in.

How To Deactivate Your Facebook Account From Your iPhone

Follow these simple instructions to deactivate your Facebook Account from your iPhone:

  1. Start the Facebook app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the three-lined icon (hamburger menu).
  3. Tap Settings & Privacy.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Account Ownership and Control.
  6. Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
  7. Tap Deactivate account.
Facebook Account
Meta logo. Meta is the new corporate name of Facebook.

How To Deactivate Your Facebook Account From Your Android

Follow these simple instructions to deactivate your Facebook Account from your Android:

  1. Start the Facebook app on your Android device.
  2. Tap the three-lined icon (hamburger menu).
  3. Tap Settings & Privacy.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Account Ownership and Control.
  6. Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
  7. Tap Deactivate Account.

What Happens When You Deactivate Facebook?

When you deactivate your account, your timeline, including posts, photos, friends lists and “about” information are hidden, and others cannot search for your account.

However, some information, such as messages you’ve sent, remains visible. Facebook saves all your information (friends, posts, photos, interests) in case you choose to reactive in the future.

What’s The Difference Between Deleting Or Deactivating A Facebook Account?

The biggest difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account is that deactivating your Facebook account gives you the flexibility to return whenever you wish, while deleting your account is a permanent action.

Facebook Account

Tips For Using Facebook Safely

We understand that some users don’t want to deactivate or delete Facebook, but still have safety concerns.

There are steps you can take to better manage your privacy and security on Facebook. Here are some tips that may help:

  1. Set a long, unique password for your Facebook account. You can use a trusted password manager to make the task easier.
  2. Avoid oversharing information on Facebook. Threat actors can use it for social engineering.
  3. Be careful when accepting friend requests. Limit posts to trusted friends and not the public.
  4. Limit the audience of old posts on your Timeline by clicking General > Privacy > Your Activity > Limit Past Posts.
  5. Stop Facebook from using your data to show you tailored ads by clicking General > Ads > Ad Settings.
  6. Manage third-party apps that have access to your data by clicking General > Apps and Websites.
  7. Beware of social media scams and be careful which links you click on Facebook or in Messenger.

ALSO READ: Top 10 Best Digital Banks In Nigeria 2022

CONCLUSION

That’s all what you need to know about How To Delete And Deactivate Facebook Account. Do well to keep your Account safe and secured. Thank you for reading all through!

Share

Leave a Comment